Evolving Industrial Hubs across the 6 Geopolitical Zones of Nigeria – Preface

This chapter delineates the gradually emerging industrial conurbations in Nigeria that would over time transcend into global fame if properly organized, reinforced and sustained. Prospective investors who are looking for where to invest and profit should endeavour to keep close watch of this development.

It would also be useful if the country’s political leaders take greater cognizance of these evolving industrial patterns with the view to supporting the substructure for the sake of national and subnational development.

Whether the six geopolitical regions are formally constituted or not, the adjoining states can equally foster regional cooperation aimed at accelerating socio-economic development. There are five states in the South-East region, seven in the North-West and six in the other four regions.

The six geopolitical zones, including their state constituents, and the evolving industrial hubs within them, are listed and described in the following Table as follows:



Geopolitical Zones States within the Zones Main Industrial hubs within the States (including the capital cities in most instances)



South-East Geopolitical Zone


Anambra State



Enugu State


Abia State



Imo State


Ebonyi State


Nnewi, Onitsha metropolis, Otu Ocha/ Aguleri, Awka the State capital, etc.


Enugu the State capital, with Nsukka and Udi, etc.


Aba, Arochukwu, Bende, with Umuahia the State Capital and others.


Owerri the State Capital, with Orlu and others.


Abakaliki the State capital, with Nkalagu and others.




The South-West industrial zone –Apapa, Sango Ota, Abeokuta, Ewekoro, Ibadan, Oshogbo etc.;



Lagos State


Ogun State



Oyo State


Ondo State


Osun State


Ekiti State


Ikeja-Lagos the State capital, with Epe/ Lekki and others;


Sango Ota, Agbara, Ikorodu, Sagamu, Isheri, Ibeshe-Papalanto-Ewekoro, with Abeokuta the State Capital, etc.


Ibadan as State capital, with Iseyin, Awe, Oyo town, etc.


Owo, Ore, with the capital city Akure, and others.


Oshogbo the state capital, Ile-Ife, and others.


Ado Ekiti the state capital; and others.




The South-South Geopolitical Zone



Rivers State



Cross River State



Akwa-Ibom State


Edo State


Delta State


Bayelsa State


Port Harcourt the state capital, Onne, Eleme, Bonny, Forcados, etc.


Calabar the state capital, with Ogoja, Ikom, Ikot-Ekpene as major hubs;


Uyo the state capital, with Eket, Oron, etc.


Benin City the state capital, with Abaraka, Ekpoma, etc.


Sapele, Warri, Ughelli, Ethiope, with Asaba the state capital.


Yenagoa the state capital with Brass, Nembe, etc.;




The North-East Geopolitical Zone
















Maiduguri the state capital, with Dikwa and others.


Damaturu the state capital, Potiskum, etc.


Yola the state capital, etc.


Jalingo the state capital, Danbaba Danfulani, Suntai, Kakara, etc.


Bauchi the state capital, Wikki etc,


Gombe the state capital, etc,




The North-West Geopolitical Zone



Kaduna State,


Kano State



Jigawa State




Zamfara State


Sokoto State


Kebbi State


Kaduna, Zaria, Kafanchan, etc.


Kano the state capital, with Kura, Bunkure, Garun Malam, Challawa, Tiga, Ruwan Kanya, etc.


Dutse the state capital, Hadejia, etc.


Katsina the state capital, etc.


Gusau the state capital, with Talata Mafara, etc.


Sokoto, the state capital, etc.


Birnin Kebbi the state capital, Argungu, etc.




North Central/ Middle Belt Geopolitical Zone


Plateau State


Kogi State



Niger State



Nassarawa State


Benue State


Kwara State


Jos the state capital, with Mangu, Pankshin, Shemdam, etc


Lokoja the state capital, with Obajuna, Moba, Ukpila, Itakpe, Ajabanokoe, Koton Karfe,  Okene, Ajaokuta, etc.


Minna as the state capital, with Jebba, Kainji, Shiroro, Bida, Zungeru, Gurara, Suleja, Mokwa, etc.


Lafia the state capital, with Keffi, Maraba, etc.


Makurdi the state capital, Gboko, etc.


Ilorin the state capital, etc.


Details of these key industrial hubs across the regions or group of states, will be featured in separate chapters, following. It is noteworthy that Nigeria’s industrialization strategy must aim to achieve global competitiveness in the production of processed and manufactured goods by linking industrial activity to primary sector activity (backward integration) on one hand; and to domestic and foreign trade and ancillary service activity (forward integration) on the other hand. That’s obviously when we will begin to see the emergence of a strong naira competing in value against other hard currencies.

Series NavigationIndustrial Hubs that are emerging in the South-East Geopolitical Zone >>


Add Your Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *